Loving Friendship

And it came to pass, when he had made an end of speaking unto Saul, that the soul of Jonathan was knit with the soul of David, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul. And Saul took him that day, and would let him go no more home to his father’s house. Then Jonathan and David made a covenant, because he loved him as his own soul. And Jonathan stripped himself of the robe that was upon him, and gave it to David, and his garments, even to his word, and to his bow, and to his girdle. — 1 Samuel 18:1-4 (NLT)

My Dearest Royal Readers:

The Scripture above is one of my favorite examples from Abba God of loving and loyal friendship between two people. It has been and remains the barometer by which I aspire to and measure my personal life as a friend to those whom God has blessed me with as friends. What a gift from God to be knitted to the soul of another by the unconditional love and power of God that changeth or faileth not!

This past weekend, I was so honored and blessed to be the speaker at a Girlfriend Family & Friends Pool Party held at a private residence in Fort Washington, MD where approximately 90 women were in attendance. As requested by the party’s beautiful Host, my brief, yet empowering, message to my Royal Sisters was entitled, “Loving Friendship.” I introduced my message with the story of Jonathan and David, and after doing so, could have ended it right there as the Word of God is sufficient in and of itself. The loving power of God immediately began to reign upon us captivating our hearts and challenging our minds with respect to the type of friend we’ve individually been to those in our lives. I knew immediately that the Holy Spirit had ruled out my personal plans to just speak briefly and sit down — “to not make it a church service” – and instead instructed me to flow throughout the sisterhood present to graciously and unconditionally give my Signature Royal Hugs out to each and every sister there. I obeyed the Holy Spirit Who empowered me to also pray for some as well as speak prophetically into the lives of others. The healing power of God flowed freely just like the waters in the beautiful outdoor underground pool we surrounded. It is an experience that I often have in ministry, but one that I never get used to: The testimony of God’s love flowing out of me as a humble giver, while also receiving love in return as a result from an open recipient. And this, my Royal Family, is indicative of the beginning of what can and hopefully becomes life-changing and long-lasting friendships between two people brought together by the divine plan of God!

True friends who stick with you through thick and thin are hard to find when we’re searching for or they come on their own accord: But as Sons and Daughters of God, they come as a priceless gift labeled Brother-friend or Sister-friend because you both truly are not just friends, but Kingdom Brothers and Sisters as well.

May God heal any broken, renew all present, and release some new friendships in our lives today that give us a powerful Jonathan and David-style testimony to share with others tomorrow.

I love you my Brother- or Sister-friend and thank God for touching my life with your’s!

Always, Your Sister Darnella

P. S. Become my Royal Soror in The Daughters of Christ Sorority by clicking on “His Daughters” on this blog for more information; follow me on Twitter @HisLoveEvang for my inspirational love tweets and join me every Saturday at Noon EST for my BTR show, The Daughter of Christ Speaks,”  by dialing 1 (646) 915-9584 or via live streaming at www.blogtalkradio.com/darnellamoore

One response to “Loving Friendship

  1. Pingback: Jonathan’s Loyalty to David: 1 Samuel 20:1-42 (New King James Version) « Jeinrev

Leave a Reply

