Standing Strong During Wilderness Times

Although few, there are guaranteed moments in a person’s life during his/her tenure of time here on earth; one of those guarantees is that you and I will at some point face wilderness (painful, challenging, difficult and uncertain) seasons in our lives. Things can be going marvelously one day, yet terribly the next. The emotion of joy suddenly becomes that of sorrow. Being a Christian–a man or woman of faith in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior–does not exempt us from these types of moments. Jesus said, Here on earth, you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world. (John 16:33, NLT). Hallelujah, glory to God!

I personally recall a particular wilderness season of my life that began in 2005 and lasted for three years (although I guess I shouldn’t complain considering the children of Israel remained in their wilderness for 40–read Deuteronomy 2). Waiting anxiously and expectantly for my deliverance became a daily pastime. I suffered much pain, heartache and even depression (yes, Christians are not exempt from the unfortunate and debilitating disease of mental and physical exhaustion or depression), but had consolation in knowing that this was merely a temporary state of being: I had to go through for a moment in order to come out better and stronger for a lifetime.

Through it all, I never lost my praise (for God’s deliverance in previous times), nor sight of my prophecy (what God said my future held for me). In spite of it all, I learned to trust in Jesus more and more each day. Once my focus shifted from the problems I was facing and onto His answers, I began to find peace in the midst of the storm. In relaxation mode as I allowed God to carry me, I eventually woke up one day and found myself in a new season where I was totally healed in mind and body as well as much stronger in faith, love, and power. I was ready to face the world again as His Daughter Darnella who was born-again, designed and destined to unconditionally love God, myself and others.

What joy for those whose strength comes from the Lord, who have set their minds on a pilgrimage to Jerusalem. When they walk through the Valley of Weeping, it will become a place of refreshing springs. The autumn rains will clothe it with blessings. They will continue to grow stronger, and each of them will appear before God in Jerusalem. (Psalm 84:5-7).

Our Father God is faithful—He will not fail, leave nor forsake us. My fellow Sons and Daughters of Christ, we can trust Him by faith with assurance that He will deliver at the perfect timing. We are victorious and true survivors, in Jesus’ Name!

Visit my Audio link and be blessed by “A Daughter’s Response During Wilderness Times.”

In His Love,
Your Sister Darnella

Leave a Reply

